the thing

So a long time ago, I was driving somewhere, going someplace, and drove past a garage sale and caught a glimpse of a big shelving/cubby-holed thing in a hideous shade of mint green paint.  In that instant, I fell in love with it and knew I had to have it.  So I called up Jason, told him the location of the garage sale, and told him what I wanted.  He bought it for what I think was $20, maybe $40, but whatever it was I knew it was worth it.  Since we have had it, it has been all over the house in both vertical and horizontal positions.  It was a vertical shelving unit in Jack’s room that held books and toys, it was in our closet holding rolled up sweaters and tees, as well as jewelry and other accessories.  It served some time in the family room as book storage atop the entertainment cabinet.  Most recently, we had it on the piano in the dining room, holding wine, books, and magazines.  But here, in our bedroom on our headboard, I think it has found it’s home.  I absolutely love it here.  It holds our current books we’re reading, plus all my magazines, sudoku puzzle books, my bible, the remotes, and library books.  There is also room for a lamp for both sides of the bed, and places for us to charge our cells and sit our water bottles, plus plenty of room for more stuff.  Hopefully we won’t grow tired of it here (I really can’t see that happening), because this sucker is heavy to move.  As for now, I am pleased as punch with it’s current location, and Jason likes it there, too.

About groovyjen

Jennifer is a photographer living in the rural suburbia of Bucks County, PA. She has a passion for her family, animals, and living a simple life very fully. She enjoys getting lost in a book, dog-walking, roasting vegetables, and teaching her rabbit amazing tricks. This blog is her diary of her daily life, as well as of things she loves. You're invited to take a glimpse into her world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the thing

  1. Patty says:

    Hey that thing is awesome! We were just talking about this…can’t recall what exactly we were talking about tho…maybe the “thing” that my small fishtank sits on? Don’t know, but this is very cool. Love it…so useful.

Leave a Reply

